Monday, April 30, 2012

Tantalizing Tuesday

Welcome to this week's Tantalizing Tuesday where we pick any picture that captures our fancy and write no more and no less than 200 words!

Enjoy my fellow teasers:
Naomi Shaw: http://naomisfantasies.wordpress.com
Julez S Morbius: http://morbiussworld.blogspot.co.uk/
Molly Synthia: http://mollysynthia.com
Lee Brazil: http://leebrazilauthor.blogspot.com
Dianne Hartsock: http://diannehartsock.wordpress.com/tantalizing-tuesday/
Venus Cahill: http://www.venusbookluvr.blogspot.ca
Leann Mitchell http://leannmitchell.blogspot.com
Cyril J. Michael: http://authorcyriljmichaels.blogspot.ca/
ER Pierce http://www.erpierce.com
Benjamin T. Russell http://incubuschronicles.blogspot.com
Bonni Sansom: http://bonnisansom.blogspot.com/
Gemma Parkes: http://gemmaparkes.blogspot.com/
Cassandre Dayne: http://cassandredayne.wordpress.com/
Sherry Palmer: http://michellechatton.blogspot.ca/
Havan Fellows: http://havanshawthaven.blogspot.com
Muffy Wilson: http://MuffyWislon.blogspot.com
Don Abdul: http://don-abdul.blogspot.com/
Ray Sostre: http://theafterdarkworld.blogspot.com



Men loved me for my voice.

My life had changed the minute I’d taken a wrong turn in college and had ended up at the radio station when they were holding auditions. I’d been mortified when they’d mistakenly thought I was there to try out but I was too shy to tell them I had stumbled in by mistake. It had been the best blunder I’d ever made. Once I spoke into the mic magic happened. Men perked up at the sound of my voice, then they fell all over themselves for my husky tones. I was no longer the invisible chubby girl, I became the girl of their dreams, the woman of all their fantasies.

Suddenly I was wanted. Overnight I became popular then discovered how to deal with it by separating my radio personality from my everyday life. However, I learned to work with the gift I’d been given and accept the fact men would be attracted to me for my voice, not my body or even my personality and yet here he was, claiming to want me for me. He didn’t want the sultry siren with the sexy speech, after all he would never hear my voice.

15 comments:

Muffy Wilson said...

He was deaf.....oh, love's final song...I lvoed this wonderful love story of hope and longing. You didn't even need a picture, for perhaps she is blind and both their physical challenges brought them together. Oh, Venus, my lovely. This could really go places, love:) xo

diannehartsock said...

I love the fact that he's deaf and loves her for herself. Great twist to the story!

Molly Synthia said...

This was very good, Venus! Excellent writing style, and a great character voice (no pun)!

Naomi said...

A wonderful love story. People can be too quick to judge. Excellent writing and a great teaser

gemma parkes said...

What a great story, it all came together so well and the picture was perfect! Well done!

Lee Brazil said...

Beautiful- but too short.You should make this into a short story or novella! It's unique :)

vampiremorbius said...

Beautiful love story

Leann Mitchell said...

A deaf lover. That was the perfect twist to such a beautiful story.

Cassandre Dayne said...

Wow - that's truly something very special and so different. I just loved it.

Bonni S. said...

Loved this! He meant it. he loved her for her. She was everything he needed without the voice. Wonderful love story.

ER Pierce said...

Awesome story Venus :) Glad she found someone to love her for her, and not her voice <3

Havan said...

I agree with Lee - there is a major story here that I want to read! This is terrific :)

Nichelle Gregory said...

Intriguing and engaging TT piece, Venus! I could feel her uncertainty and yearning to believe him.

Benjamin Tiberius Russell said...

Everybody wants to have someone who will love them for them - for who they are. It sounds like( considering how this post ended, that's a play on words )she found a true love.

Author Cyril J. Michael said...

Fabulous Teaser! Love this, you need to go with this story.